People buy millions of products with a UL, CE, or CSA mark globally each year – sometimes without even realizing it.

From electrical products, safety supplies, and appliances to bulletproof glass, furnaces, fire extinguishers, and dietary supplements, the marks are common across many industries.

No matter what you buy, seeing one of these images adds a sense of security, denoting a high level of safety covering many issues. Some are world-recognized – others apply to regions – but knowing what the marks mean can help you make better decisions and protect yourself from liability.

Whether you’re looking for safety, reliability, performance, or durability, products with the UL, CE, or SCA marks have been tested and certified to meet the strictest standards today.

What is the UL?

If you live in the U.S., you’ve seen the UL mark on everything from lightbulbs and toasters to copper wire and machinery.

UL stands for Underwriter Laboratories, a U.S.-based testing organization founded in 1894. Its goal is to promote product safety through testing, research, and standards development. According to the group, “The UL Mark is the single most accepted Certification Mark in the United States, appearing on 22 billion products annually.”

With marks on so many products, the UL is well-known. Its testing measures are accepted worldwide and feature more than 1,500 individual standards. The group has also received accreditation from several other groups, including:

  • audited designator accreditation from the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
  • recognized Standards Development Organization (SDO) by the Standards Council of Canada (SCC)

The second designation allows UL to develop National Standards of Canada (NSCs) for further product testing.

One Organization, Several Marks

Depending on where you are in the United States of Canada, there are a couple different forms of the iconic UL mark.

UL marks in North America typically have four required elements that make them legitimate. One is the image of the letters UL inside of a circle. Other symbols include the word “Listed,” the product’s name, and issue, serial, or control number.

In the U.S., you’ll be familiar with the standard UL mark. This means the product meets all the standards the organization has applied to the item.

For our friends north of the border in Canada, the UL mark will have a C off to the left side. Products with this designation meet Canadian standards and other requirements. If you see both a “C” and a U.S. mark on either side of the UL circle, the product meets standards in both countries.

What is the CSA Group?

Formerly known as the Canadian Standards Association, CSA is to Canada what the UL is to the United States.

Founded in 1919, the former Canadian Engineering Standards Association (CESA) was formed to create standards for wire rope, aircraft parts, and bridges. Since then, the organization has expanded into more than 50 technologies and published more than 3,000 codes for thousands of products and materials.

Today, the organization has expanded into more than 140 markets, including the United States, and is recognized as a worldwide testing and certification leader. The CSA has achieved the position of a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL) and holds accreditations from the Standards Council of Canada (SCC) in Canada and the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) in the U.S.

The CSA also has several global ties, including partnerships with the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

A CSA mark is circular like the UL’s but has the letters “SA” inside a large “C” shape. If you see this mark or one with a C on the side, it meets Canadian safety standards. If it has a “C” and a “US,” the item meets standards in both countries.

What is the CE?

If you live in Europe, you’re familiar with the CE mark. CE stands for “Conformitè Europëenne, French for European Conformity, and is used across the European Economic Area (EEA). This area includes all 27 countries of the European Union, plus a few extras like Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Turkey. All told, the EEA covers about a half billion people in Europe.

Developed in the 1980s to meet EU New Approach directives, CE marking applies to everything from toys and medical devices to personal protective equipment (PPE), explosives, and electrical wires. Getting the mark is a requirement if manufacturers want to do business in Europe, and they have to follow several steps to ensure their products are safe for use.

The qualifications aren’t only for products manufactured within the EEA, either. Products from any country must meet CE standards before they can legally be sold. In cases where the product poses an increased risk, another inspection must be performed by an independent third-party organization before the CE marking can be added.

What Makes the Organizations Similar?

Across the board, all three organizations are dedicated to proper technical documentation and ensuring every product follows strict safety standards.

The CSA and UL are worldwide organizations that promote safety and science to ensure every product they certify meets reliability, consistency, and other criteria across multiple disciplines.

Granted, companies with either a CSA or UL mark still need to get a Conformité Européenne certification before selling in the EEA. However, having those two certifications can make the CE process much less daunting.

Additionally, the CSA and UL are approved by their respective standards organizations – ANSI in the U.S., and the SCC in Canada – and have ISO certifications.

Same Goal, Subtle Differences

All three organizations put safety first and have similar standards. However, country-based quirks associated with each one will depend on where the manufacturer is located.

For example, a manufacturer that adheres to the standards outlined by the CE has full authority to sell within the EEA, but not in the U.S. or Canada. Likewise, companies in the U.S. and Canada have their own markings and certifications but can’t sell in the EEA until they have the associated CE marking and information.

Trusted Organizations Protecting Manufacturers and Consumers

Safety is paramount, not just for consumers but for manufacturers as well. Each organization has thousands of standards to ensure every material and product they research meets and exceeds high quality and consistency across the board.

But consumers also play a critical role in the process. When buyers know what the markings mean and actively look for them in the market, it encourages the industry to continue adopting and innovating their products to meet consistently better standards.

In the end, groups like Underwriter Laboratories, the CSA Group, and Conformité Européenne exist to keep us all safe. Manufacturers need the markings to gain trust in the overall market, distributors get peace of mind while choosing what products to sell, and consumers can buy confidently.

So, next time you look for copper wire, appliances, machines, or protective gear, check for the symbols and know your next purchase is reliable and safe.

Get the Latest Copper Pricing

See the most up-to-date information with the latest market data available.

Learn More